Dreams Do Come True: #FeelsFest2017 Recap

It just dawned on me that I didn’t write recaps for the succeeding #romanceclass events after #AllTheFeels. I’ve been away from this blog for so long, and now that I’m back for a blog post, I’m at a loss for words.

Mostly because so many things happened. So many great things that led to this one.

Maybe I can start with something from my last recap of a #romanceclass event:

In my recap for #AllTheFeels, I shared my dream of being a #romanceclass author, of having my book featured in the live readings, and of having Miguel Almendras as the guy reading from my book.

  • April 30, 2017, Summer Feels book launch: My dream of being a #romanceclass author came true.
  • July 15, 2017: I received the email from Ms. Mina asking for permission to read an excerpt from All about That Bass, my story from Summer Feels. (I screamed. A LOT.)
  • October 14, 2017, #FeelsFest2017: Miguel Almendras (!!!) and Vanya Castor became Liam Lorenzo and Erika Torres-

AND I’M STILL SHOOK.

It’s been a week (more than a week, actually)Β since the day when it all became real, but I still feel like I’m dreaming…and wow.

My anticipation for this event is no secret to the #romanceclass family, and the support I received is just overwhelming. I feel so grateful to everyone who cheered for me and got excited for the moment my dreams came true. Thank you for making this day extra special. ❀

I went to #FeelsFest2017 with my two sisters. The last time we were complete at a #romanceclass event was the first Feels Fest in 2016, and wow, how fast time flies.

You have no idea how it feels like to see my name over there.

Below are some photos during the live readings: (Click to see bigger versions!)

I didn’t have photos of Kuya Migs and Ate Vanya as Liam and Erika, so I grabbed these from Ms. Tara, the Instagram story of romanceclassbooks, and my sister Eliana:

MY HEART MY SOUL

IT’S LIAM AND ERIKA and Claire, and Ciara, and Kuya Jun. Thank you for the different voices, Kuya Migs and Ate Vanya. πŸ™‚

A playlist of all the live readings from #FeelsFest2017 can be found here. (Thank you, Ate Gela!)

New ~things at #FeelsFest2017:

  • Poetry reading! Kuya Migs and Ate Sam read poems by Dawn Lanuza and Layla Tanjutco.
  • Live readingnot really a.k.a. THE GAHOATES KISS! *we’re still screaming, TBH*
  • Singing! Ate Vanya and Kuya Fred sang Only Us from Dear Evan Hansen. ❀

There were also messages from international romance authors and a surprise birthday video for Ms. Mina! πŸ™‚

I wasn’t able to submit a video, but I do have a message for Ms. Mina! (Let’s wait for October 31, okay?) ❀

One of the messages for Ms. Mina is a silent greeting from Ate Six – and it pretty much sums up how I feel for #romanceclass. I seriously had to hold back tears because I didn’t want to ugly-cry at a #romanceclass event.

You see, for years I felt like I didn’t belong. I was that girl who would sleep during vacant periods at school because I had no one to talk to about what I like and what I love doing. It was so hard for me to have “no friends” and high school became the saddest part of my life because of that.

Then I met #romancelass, and I realized that I actually have a place to belong to. This community – and I always say this every time I describe #romanceclass – is family to me. Trying to express how much I love #romanceclass is like trying to measure infinity. And now I’m thinking, maybe I had to go through high school alone because I had to start writing. My first stories were inspired by my real-life experiences, and I met #romanceclass at the time when I was ready to grow as a writer.

Look where I am now, living my dream and finally calling myself a #romanceclass author. (That nametag made me feel more legit, so thank youuuu!)

I also say this a lot but I just love you all, okay? I met very special people because of the #romanceclass family, and I am forever grateful. ❀


FEELS DUMP

Can I just say how adorable Ate Vanya is? I love her voice and she is soooo cute! The live reading of All about That Bass wouldn’t be as special without her. I just feel so light whenever she’s around. She even tweeted a message for me and I am fangirling. ❀

Kuya Gio is a legend. His one-man show during the technical difficulties was iconic. And he’s so close to #romanceclass I almost feel like he’s my brother. Plus, he kinda knows everyone. I was surprised to find out he actually knows my name, considering that I have a bias for a ~certain live reader that is not him. (But seriously Kuya Gio, you’re a legend and I love you. I hope you know that I’m always in awe of what you do for #romanceclass.)

Kuya Fred is a true prince. He transformed #FeelsFest2017 to a book cover photoshoot, and the results are so swoonworthy you’d actually want the photos as book covers. I love his voice, and I also appreciate that he felt at home with #romanceclass right away. It was only his first time at #AprilFeelsDay2017, but he already stole a lot of hearts. I know he’ll steal a lot more. πŸ™‚

It was mesmerizing to hear Ate Sam reading the poems. Her voice just draws you in to feel what needs to be felt. On the other hand, Ate Rachel starred in another unforgettable performance with Kuya Gio. Their chemistry is just something else, we all know it. #Gahoates is still the original ship. But Ate Rachel and Ate Sam are magic. They didn’t have to read together for me to feel that. ❀

Kuya Migs. You know how special you are and how much I believe in you. Meeting you at #AllTheFeels was life-changing, and now, you’re the dream come true. Thank you for all the things. ❀

Ate Six. You have to be in this post for ~reasons. I don’t even have to enumerate them anymore. You’re the closest I have to an older sister in #romanceclass, and you’re one of the strongest people I know. Thank you for being brave. You know the rest. ❀

Ms. Mina, Fairy Godmother/Mother Bear/Goddess with Magical Hair/#romanceclass Wonder Woman. I still remember the first time I met you in person. I was writing the information on the logbook at Robinsons Cybergate Tower 3 when I saw you and I was starstruck. Two years later, you still light up every room you enter. You’re a gift to our lives, and I love you. ❀


Can’t Get Enough: MORE PHOTOS!

Erika and Erika. HAHA.
All about That Bass Squad: me, Ate Vanya, Kuya Migs, and the penguins!
Can this hug photo be a tradition? I like it too much. ❀❀
ATE SIX! ❀
8/23 of Summer Feels! ❀
Signed stuff! My heart is happy. ❀

I don’t think I’ll ever move on from #FeelsFest2017, but my #romanceclassYA project is waiting for me, so I guess I’ll just live with the hangover.

October 14, 2017 will forever be in my heart. ❀

5 thoughts on “Dreams Do Come True: #FeelsFest2017 Recap

  1. Congratulations ulit, Fay πŸ™‚ you’re the perfect example of how declaring your dream helps you achieve it πŸ™‚ You inspire me to be more courageous πŸ™‚ you go, girl πŸ™‚

    Like

Let your thoughts be heard!

